Lucy in the world of humans

My name is Lucy.
I am the second out of four siblings to have been raised by Mr and Mrs Thompson.
I am 25 years, 10 months, 17 days and 11 hours old.
I have spent my entire life wanting to be ‘human’.
I now realise this isn’t how I am made to be… I have Asperger’s Syndrome.

It went undiagnosed until my 16th birthday which by that point I had already become agoraphobic (frightened of leaving the house) and in the confusion, fear, depression and anger that came with that diagnosis, I found myself at war in my own mind. Thus I sentenced myself to not leaving my home for another 7 years.
On February 3rd 2013 my life changed. It came in the form of a German Shepherd puppy named Edgar Allan Poe. My best friend and my lifeline.
To make a long story short, he gave me the will and confidence to take my first steps going out into the world. I spent the next 3 years trying desperately to hide who I really am and fit in with the neurotypical humans of the world.
Though some lifelong friends have been made, and goals reached I didn’t think possible. I had never been so tired. I had never been so hurt and I had never felt more out of place.

Through this blog I am going to share with you my past and my present, in the only way I know how to. Unfiltered. With the hope of a future where I am happy to just BE.

I know now I will never be part of their world… But just like Ariel from The Little Mermaid, I want to be where the people are. So here is my story. Here is my journey to finding my place in this world as me. Exactly who I was made to be.

Leave a Reply

