A New Chapter

This week will mark 10 years since I was diagnosed with Asperger’s Syndrome.

35e8ad16e726422f92527b58a1661995

After all these years, it is only now that I am ready for the next step in learning to live with Autism.

I was referred to the Asperger’s and ADHD team back in 2006 following the diagnosis, one of the first things they informed me of were support groups. Not only do you have meetings where you engage with other people your age, coping with this struggle of living life as an Aspie, group outings are planned. Sounds helpful and productive doesn’t it? Over the years this group has been recommended to me time and time again yet I would never entertain the idea. In fact, I hated it.

After all, I may have Asperger’s Syndrome but I look and act like a ‘normal’ person. I have ‘normal’ friends. ‘Normal’ brothers and sisters. Me? Go to one of those groups? My disguise as human is revealed to be just that. A disguise. An act.

I thought I could figure it out on my own. To be honest with you, I believed I was doing okay. I even accomplished making some neurotypical friends who accepted me as I am.

Painfully I am learning this is not entirely true.

I am making this journey to go into the world of humans and find my place. Maybe I shouldn’t do it alone anymore. I seem to always end up where I started. Hurt. Confused. Alone.

I need back up. From people who can understand how my brain works, how it’s wired, because they are wired the same way.

So this week I have officially signed up for Adults with Asperger’s Syndrome Group. 

Terrified.

Hopeful.

Excited.

Anxious.

But ready.

I’ll keep you informed.

Leave a Reply

